Belladonna Bess

An edible garden in Wellington, NZ

Day 2 below the line September 24, 2012

Filed under: Cooking,Living below the line — belladonnabess @ 9:40 pm

Breakfast: same as yesterday – one cup budget instant coffee with milk (powdered skim milk), rolled oats with 2 chopped dates and milk. Also, I salt the rolled oats slightly – essential!

Morning tea: more “tea” from my wild lemon balm. I’m actually getting used to it and don’t mind it. Although coffee would be better. 5 crackers (based on a recipe I posted previously, but with 10 cents worth of sesame seeds on them for a bit of extra flavour).

Lunch: a reheated chapati from yesterday, dal and rice the same as yesterday.

Afternoon tea: more lemon balm tea and another 5 crackers.

Second afternoon tea: 2 more reheated chapati. This was essential, as I had a birthday party to attend. If I didn’t have food inside me before I went, I’d have passed out. Not to mention the temptation of having the food in front of me when I was hungry.

Dinner: rice cooked with onion, celery, carrot, herbs and tinned tomatoes. Kind of like a risotto (thanks for the idea Mona!). I put a bit of butter on it at the end. It wasn’t bad at all, and I didn’t get to eat until 9 at night which made it all the better when I finally ate.

 

 

Leave a Reply

