Belladonna Bess

An edible garden in Wellington, NZ

Below the line pantry September 22, 2012

Filed under: Cooking,Living below the line — belladonnabess @ 10:10 pm

My shopping is done. Here is my pantry for the week (minus garden vegetables).

I’ve done a detailed budget for the things I’ve bought. I’ve mostly purchased from bulk bins, there were a couple of whole packets like the rice and tinned tomatoes. In some cases, I bought packets and split them, for example with the coffee. I split a bottle of oil with the other people I know doing the challenge (well, the Wellington-based ones anyway). Where I already had stuff, like baking powder, salt, milk powder, curry leaves, ginger etc, I just weighed out an appropriate volume and calculated the cost for that amount.

Here’s my final calculations.

final

I’ve also cooked my first meal of lentils and rice so that I have something for lunch tomorrow. I never cook lentils the same way twice – I cooked this lot with oil, onion, crushed coriander seed (from my garden when I had a coriander population explosion), grated ginger, curry leaves, salt and a little bit of chili powder. It’s quite tasty, unlike the rice which is disturbingly white (I usually use organic or at least basmati, but this cheap and nasty stuff looks like it’s been bleached).

https://www.livebelowtheline.com/me/melanienewfield

 

Leave a Reply

