Belladonna Bess

An edible garden in Wellington, NZ

Hiatus and hijack September 10, 2012

Filed under: Garden,Living below the line — belladonnabess @ 6:24 pm

It’s the blog that has been in hiatus, not my garden.

Buying: for the whole year, the only vegetables I’ve bought are some sweetcorn (I just can’t grow it), onions (can’t grow enough), garlic and some okra – I wish I could grow it, but Wellington just isn’t tropical enough!

Eating: for the whole year – leeks, red onions, carrots and chard of every shade, broccoli, kale, oca, potatoes, beans, celery, cavolo nero, kohlrabi, zucchini, a few rather pathetic tomatoes (wet summer), capsicum, lettuce, Jerusalem artichoke, choko leaves (I haven’t got any fruit yet), rhubarb, apples (about 25 from my little trees), pear (singular!), raspberrries, strawberries, boysenberries, gooseberries, passionfruit (P. antioquiensis, two of them!), and I think some other things I can’t remember right now. Also a bunch of weeds like miner’s lettuce, chickweed etc and herbs like parsley.

Growing: right now I’ve got carrots, leeks, chard, broccoli, kale, lettuce, kohlrabi and a wide selection of weeds. Broad beans are flowering and there are still some yams in the ground.

Over the next few weeks, I’m going to hijack my blog to talk about the “live below the line challenge”.

https://www.livebelowtheline.com/nz

https://www.livebelowtheline.com/me/melanienewfield

 

Leave a Reply

