Belladonna Bess

An edible garden in Wellington, NZ

Getting somewhere? October 8, 2011

Filed under: Garden — belladonnabess @ 9:56 pm

I’m slowly tidying up the overgrown garden beds…

Weeding: last weekend I pruned the overgrown Cape gooseberry and unearthed the lemon tree which was growing happily and fruiting under a pile of Cape gooseberry and random weeds. This weekend I pulled all the bolting parsley out of the carrot bed, tidied it up and replanted it.

Planting: celery and onion seedlings that I really should have planted weeks ago.

Sowing: carrot seed, in the former parsley/ carrot bed, along with the celery and onion. Also sowing tomato seeds in pots last weekend.

Uncovering: my choko. It survived the snow and is still alive under the parsley.

Pruning: I cut back most of the dead bits on my sarracenias. They look much better, I think it is a couple of years since they had a trim. A few pitchers were basically functional but with dead tops – I left those as I think the plants are still getting nutrition from them.

Admiring: lots of black and white nemophila flowering. It would be a nice combo with broad beans, as the flower at the same time, both with black and white flowers.

Buying: asparagus only. Apart from that, I’m entirely on my own veges.

Bolting: kohlrabi, cabbage, broccoli, with first signs of bolt in celery, celeriac and chard. Celeriac never really did anything before bolting.

Eating: broad beans (one variety is super-early, the rest are barely setting fruit), bolted cabbage stalks, broccoli flowers, lettuce, celery, chard, cavolo nero, carrots, leeks (rather mini ones).

 

Leave a Reply

