Belladonna Bess

An edible garden in Wellington, NZ

Summer’s here November 27, 2010

Filed under: Garden — belladonnabess @ 9:30 pm

How long it will stay summer I don’t know, but the weekend was sunny and hot, and everything is looking really dry.
Watering: I’m particularly making sure that the fruit trees I put in this year get enough, plus the vegetables need regular watering in weather like this.

Disassembling: the cloche/ Faustarium. The zucchinis are getting big and should be able to survive without the cover now. Faust hasn’t been using it so much over the last week, probably because it is getting too hot in there. His current favourite spot is the half bale of straw that I have sitting under the table on my deck.

Planting: bought seedlings of capsicum or chilli (can’t remember), eggplants (one into the ground and two into pots for the greenhouse), homegrown cucumber seedlings, Dianthus (at the base of one of my apple trees). I think I also planted some bean seeds last weekend that I forgot to write up.

Eating: I’ve had my first raspberries and boysenberries, and one blueberry. The currants and gooseberries are some way off still. Lots of strawberries, plus lots of lettuce and salad, broad beans, a few carrots, cavolo nero, multiplying onions and some of the remaining (rather small) leeks. Broccoli all finished. Getting a few potatoes from random spots in the garden.

Anticipating: the first zucchinis, which I’m expecting before Christmas. Plus the berries…

Picking: an abundance of self-sown sweet peas. Lovely.

 

Leave a Reply

