Belladonna Bess

An edible garden in Wellington, NZ

Sprung October 2, 2010

Filed under: Garden,Photos — belladonnabess @ 7:21 pm

A proper spring day today – spring is well and truly here and hopefully there will be no more flashbacks to winter. I wore a t-shirt and got hot working in the garden. Today is the sort of day that reminds me summer is coming. And I can’t wait.

Weeding: the weeds are rampant. I bought a weeding tool that is good for getting the roots out and have been tackling dock and buttercup plants in the vegetable garden. I’ve also been cutting back the rampant weeds on my paths, by hand.

Planting: Jersey Benne potatoes. I also planted my Agria potatoes yesterday and also a couple of Swifts, which are supposed to be ready in 60 days. Here’s hoping I don’t get too much blight. Also planting a few celery seedlings in the corner of my feral potato bed. I’ve also got spinach and onions planted within the last 2-3 weeks.

Harvesting: the feral potato bed had died back in one patch, so I harvested some of the various random potatoes there. Not a lot, but I’ll get a few meals from them.

Eating: silverbeet (the only thing I have in abundance). Also small amounts of broccoli, carrot, broad beans, celery, garlic (stored), lettuce, miner’s lettuce, land cress, puha, edible flowers (borage, viola, calendula, broccoli).

Bolting: all my pak choi bolted a few weeks ago without ever getting to an edible stage. Note to self – don’t bother with pak choi in late winter/ early spring. Various salad green brassicas are bolting too. Now my giant parsley is bolting, so I’ve been pulling the plants out.

Catching up: I planted a bunch of seeds 2 weeks ago. The pak choi were up in 5 days, 2 days later the yellow cucumbers were up and I’ve now also got zucchini, spaghetti squash, pumpkin, mixed basil, mini cabbage, and the first cherro tomatoes in the last couple of days. But I’m cursing now, because a snail got in and ate most of my cucumber seedlings. I’ve got two left now, so I will need to plant some more. I’ve also got carrot and radish up, from sowings 3-4 weeks ago.

Pictures – click on the picture for a higher resolution version.

 

One Response to “Sprung”

  1. Denise Says:

    The peach blossom is lovely. Sunshine and seedlings very welcome after an especially long and rather miserable winter…


Leave a Reply

