Belladonna Bess

An edible garden in Wellington, NZ

August frost August 24, 2010

Filed under: Garden — belladonnabess @ 10:39 pm

Frost this morning. I went out to pick some lettuce for lunch and it was frozen solid. I can’t remember having a frost this late here before.

Wondering: I have no idea how much frost I have had this winter, as I have been leaving in the morning while it is still dark. I’m so glad the days are a bit longer now, so I have a better idea of what is going on.

Eating: lettuce, silverbeet, miner’s lettuce, chickweed, puha. Not a lot really; I’m still buying vegetables but at least I’ve got salad.

Tidying: on the weekend I pulled out some weeds and old cabbage that was finally starting to bolt. I can’t complain, since I have had several heads off each plant.

Flowering: I’ve got half a dozen daffodils now. Big happy yellow ones, my absolute favourite. I love daffodils. They’re like a smile on a stalk.

 

One Response to “August frost”

  1. retrofemmeobjetdart Says:

    I have some bright yellow gerboras in a tall vase and they are also “a smile on a stalk” – love that comment!!


Leave a Reply

