Belladonna Bess

An edible garden in Wellington, NZ

Out of the habit June 4, 2010

Filed under: Garden — belladonnabess @ 11:15 pm

I’ve done little gardening and even less writing about it lately. Between work, house renovations and horrible weather, the garden is a rather neglected mess. But I have been…

Eating: silverbeet, potatoes, silverbeet, potatoes, silverbeet, potatoes

Eating, but in rather smaller quantities: oca (yams), celery, broccoli, oyster mushrooms (from a kit), savoy cabbage, Jerusalem artichoke, lettuce, walking onions, garlic, tomatoes, raspberries.

Buying: ordinary mushrooms, chokoes, onions. I’m not buying a lot of vegetables, just a few things that I really felt like having.

Sprouting: two chokoes, one of the spiny and one of the smooth variety. I’ll try and get them to grow here, although they prefer a warmer climate. Right now they are sitting on a damp paper towel on a plate in the laundry. No point in freezing them outside right now.

Planting: a few pak choi or other brassica seedlings.

Tidying: had some help today and started the winter cleanup. Pulled out the tomatoes, removed all the nets except one that I just realise I forgot, pulled down the bean frame, weeded the soft fruit beds and put down some more pea straw.

Harvesting: I have pulled up a few oca over the last two weeks, but harvested the lot today, plus a few potatoes that were mixed up among them. Maybe 3/4 of a bucketful from a single row of plants, just over a metre long.

 

2 Responses to “Out of the habit”

  1. Denise Ryan Says:

    Silverbeet, potatoes – had to laugh!! My own little patch of garden is also completely waterlogged at the moment and fast being engulfed by the encroaching lawn.. The white strawberry plant you gave me is thriving while everything else looks rather dejected.

    Counting down to spring..

  2. belladonnabess Says:

    Yay for the white strawberry. It is definitely one of my favourites, so reliable. I would be hanging out for spring, only I need some cold weather to slow the weeds down so I can try to get them under control.


Leave a Reply

