Belladonna Bess

An edible garden in Wellington, NZ

Disorganisation April 4, 2010

Filed under: Garden — belladonnabess @ 11:02 pm

I have been gardening a little, but not writing much down. Can’t quite remember what I have been doing.

Eating vegetables: cabbage (resprouts from ones I cut earlier), silverbeet, zucchini (probably down to the last of them soon), cucumber (not many, but I may get one or two more), tomatoes, salad greens (new lettuce germinating, NZ spinach, dandelions).

Eating fruit: apples (the total crop from my Polka tree was two. First year so I can’t complain, and the taste was delicious). I may plant another tree, they take so little space). Raspberries (Ivory, Qualicum, Ebony and Waiau is just starting. Ebony has an abundant crop but a pretty insipid flavour, while the others are all very nice). Strawberries (mostly white alpine).

Planting: last week I planted a few more brassica seedlings from the market (pak choi, purple broccoli I think) plus a salad mix, red onions and some marigolds for the flowers as it is looking a bit drab right now).

Spraying: dipel last week since the cabbage whites were out of hand. This week I tried spraying water with a couple of drops of dishwashing liquid on some of the cabbages with very bad grey aphids.  May or may not work but worth a go.

Weeding: the asparagus bed, and among the leeks and carrots that have been germinating over the last couple of weeks.

Saving: bean seeds (Dalmatian and Paul Bunyan varieties)

Breadmaking: my most successful effort ever today. A brown loaf following a pretty basic recipe except for adding the remains of some yoghurt that needed using up. The difference this time wasn’t so much what went in as how I did it – I carefully followed the kneading and shaping instructions in a new cookbook I bought and that really seemed to do the trick. I made a loaf in a loaf tin (about standard size) and a few rolls so that I had something to tear apart and eat hot with melted butter. It just tastes so good fresh straight from the oven.

 

Leave a Reply

