Belladonna Bess

An edible garden in Wellington, NZ

Instant autumn March 12, 2010

Filed under: Garden — belladonnabess @ 8:07 pm

Autumn arrived at 5pm yesterday afternoon, in the form of a freezing and violent southerly. Since then, it has been distinctly colder.

Weeding: root vegetable bed, one of the strawberry beds

Sowing: leeks, carrots. Not sure I’ve got the timing right. Let’s see.

Eating: raspberries – plenty of Ebony, plus Qualicum is starting. Strawberries – mostly white ones now, blueberries, beans (not many left but still some), cabbage, zucchini, tomatoes, carrots, beetroot. Also stored potatoes.

Germinating: more feral broccoli

Observing: I’ve got late blight on my tomatoes this year. I think I have had it before, but much less. The conditions this year were just more suitable for Phytophthora than tomatoes.

Planting: a grapevine I’ve had in a pot for a while. I actually planted it last weekend but was too busy/ tired to write.

Removing: the wisteria and a lot of tree roots from the garden beside the deck. The stumps are still there – I need to get hold of some other tools – but I’ve started work on the garden where my hazelnuts will go. This was also last weekend.

Anticipating: some cucumbers on the way.

Baking: hot cross buns.

 

Leave a Reply

