Belladonna Bess

An edible garden in Wellington, NZ

Overgrown February 20, 2010

Filed under: Garden — belladonnabess @ 9:16 pm

Gusty northerly today, not pleasant in the garden, but I was desperate to get something done.

Weeding: I spent about 2 hours weeding, and produced a huge pile of buttercup, velt grass, couch grass, Teucrium, chickweed, dandelion, dock, clover and other stuff. I also removed a feral pumpkin that had been wandering through the asparagus patch and was making a run towards the strawberries. My garden already has enough rampant pumpkin.

Transplanting: feral broccoli as well as space saver cabbage and romanesco. I noticed that a couple of very big and healthy feral broccoli plants were growing in the bed where I had dug out the potatoes. There was a thick layer of coffee grounds, and they seemed to like it. So I planted the potted seedlings and transplanted a number of the plants that were growing under last year’s broccoli.

Eating: zucchini pizza (zucchini, tomatoes, herbs, a bit of tomato paste and a bit of cheese). I made the base from scratch myself and I’m very pleased with it. I’ve now got a few tomatoes, but not many and it isn’t going to be a good season as there is a lot more disease. Blueberries (blue magic) – so far this one is a little disappointing in flavour compared to the southern highbush that fruited earlier. Purslane – one of my favourite weeds. Rhubarb, which I made into crumble, silverbeet, cabbage, strawberries, zucchini, beans, zucchini, and did I mention zucchini?

Anticipating: the next lot of raspberries – I can see a few fruits on Qualicum (I think) colouring up. Also, my first space saver cabbage, but I admit I’m more excited about the raspberries.

 

Leave a Reply

