Belladonna Bess

An edible garden in Wellington, NZ

Seeds January 24, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — belladonnabess @ 9:15 pm

Germinating: the seeds I sowed on the 17th are germinating already. The first of them (cabbage and pak choi) had started germinating by the 21st. The benefits of a greenhouse and summer. Not that the last week has been entirely summer, Saturday was more like winter. Again.

Also germinating: the romanesco, silverbeet, basil, radishes and some of the random flowers. Maybe some of the carrots or beetroot, but I can’t remember now.

 

2 Responses to “Seeds”

  1. Jo Says:

    Very nice!

    Do you germinate in pots and then move them outside?

  2. belladonnabess Says:

    All except the radishes are in little pots. I used to do the seeds inside, but now I have a mini-greenhouse, I mainly use that. It certainly makes a difference. If I remember, I try and harden off the seedlings by moving them outside for a bit, but half the time I just plant straight from the greenhouse to the garden. I don’t know that it makes a lot of difference – the weather is a more important factor than the quality of the seedlings it seems.


Leave a Reply

