Belladonna Bess

An edible garden in Wellington, NZ

It’s been a while January 17, 2010

Filed under: Garden — belladonnabess @ 10:28 pm

Since I last wrote, winter has been and gone. That’s a bit of a worry, since it has been just over 2 weeks since my last post. The weekend was freezing and if my rain gauge is accurate, I had over 80mm of rain. January is supposed to be a cold month, but only in the Northern Hemisphere. Today was sunny and hot once the thick fog finally vanished. I’m so confused.

Planting: black violas, plus a couple of cucumbers last week (when my modem was broken)

Sowing: (in pots) coloured beet, romanesco broccoli, mini cabbage, pak choi, basil, random flowers

Sowing: (in ground) sugar snap peas, Alderman’s tall climbing peas, orange and purple carrots, radishes, beetroot (not sure how the peas will go, but I expect the rest to be ok)

Germinating: I’ve got broccoli seedlings coming up where I left a couple of plants of my feral broccoli to go to seed.

Weeding: the asparagus bed (seedlings seem to be doing quite well), root vegetable bed, etc

Eating: shallots, garlic, potatoes, cabbage, chard/ beet, beetroot, carrots, zucchini, lettuce, peas (very few left) strawberries, raspberries (Qualicum, the rest are mostly finished)

Waiting: my beans and tomatoes aren’t doing so well, although the Dalmatian beans that I have up against the fence are a bit better – I’ve eaten a couple of less good pods off them, but I’m mostly saving those plants for seed. Some of my tomatoes are setting fruit, but they are well behind where they should be. The plants in the greenhouse and the ones in the windbreak have a few small fruit forming. The few that I haven’t sheltered are really not too good.

Also waiting: for summer to turn up. After 2009 was the craziest weather year on record (officially; coldest May, warmest August, coldest October, and the other months set various records too), I hoped 2010 would be a bit more normal. But no…

 

Leave a Reply

