Belladonna Bess

An edible garden in Wellington, NZ

Happy bumblebees December 12, 2009

Filed under: Garden — belladonnabess @ 10:04 pm

Planting: Passiflora antioquiensis, zucchini (Zephyr), cucumber (yellow). All in the mandarin corner. I just remembered now that I was going to net the area because the blackbirds have been doing a huge amount of digging in that garden. Only I forgot.

Freezing: broad beans. I’m at the peak of the crop right now, but they will probably be finished in a week or two.

Sharing: broad beans (ok, I’ve got quite a few). I’ve been sending them over the fence to the neighbour – today he sent back some lemons. That was actually most fortuitous, as I’d used all the ones I had for German Christmas cookies. I wanted to make more, but had forgotten to buy the necessary lemons. So it was a great bonus to get them.

Eating: more cabbage, silverbeet, sugar snap peas, carrots, broad beans, onions, raspberries, strawberries, herbs.

Flowering: borage, Phacelia, meadowfoam, Nemophila, Calendula, chervil, clover, mustard, runner beans, oca, Jersey Benne potatoes… I have happy bumblebees.

 

Leave a Reply

