Belladonna Bess

An edible garden in Wellington, NZ

Bonus time November 18, 2009

Filed under: Garden — belladonnabess @ 10:19 pm

I got home from work a little early, the garden was warm, calm and sunny. So I gardened.

Weeding: note to self – never leave an unmulched bed in an attempt to grow seeds.

Planting: alyssum, for the insects and as a ground cover in some difficult spots. Tomatoes (my seed-grown seedlings) – Russian red, currant, yellow pear and random. Chili (bought seedlings) – hot red, sweet banana and cayenne. Sweetcorn – bought seedlings.

Fixing: the windbreak around the tomatoes, it was getting a bit loose and gales are predicted this weekend.

Budding: my Unique feijoa. It’s mad, I only planted it a few months ago!

Sprouting: Arisaema tortuosum and A. flavum are up.

Smelling: freesias. My bulb timing is crazy, but I’m not complaining. I love freesias.

Eating: broad beans, carrot thinnings, radish, beetroot, sugar beet thinnings, peas, pak choi, strawberries and my very first new potato of the year (Jersey Benne). Not much of anything, but there’s a good range. Radish and beetroot are now finished for a couple of months at least.

Wondering: when I should plant out my asparagus seedlings. It won’t be this weekend, but they do need to go into the garden soon.

 

 

Leave a Reply

