Belladonna Bess

An edible garden in Wellington, NZ

Gales November 14, 2009

Filed under: Garden — belladonnabess @ 9:42 pm

Yesterday was windy. Today is gales. I’ve done little gardening, it’s hard to do anything in the garden with the wind like that.

Watering: there hasn’t been any significant rain for about 3 weeks. I tried to put in a stake yesterday and the ground is on the way to being concrete. I used a few watering cans-full. It’s not so bad that I feel the need to get the hose out, and most of the places where the mulch hasn’t been ripped up are still ok.

Netting: I redid the netting over the blueberries – the first lot I use was poor quality and tore. I also had to net the asparagus bed as I found dirt piled over some of my seedlings.

Flowering: the Nemophila I sowed as seeds, I can’t be bothered checking back to find out exactly when.

Budding: my sub-Arctic plenty tomato. That’s very keen of it, the other tomatoes are basically just sitting and sulking in the vile weather.

Dying: one of my dwaft nectarines is on the way out. I suspect a root rot, and there’s not much I can do. I’ve given it some wind shelter and good nutrition, but it’s still declining. The spot it’s in is well-drained and no other plants are sick, so I suspect that it may have had something when I bought it.

Replanting: my ladybug tomato seedling. It took some digging to even find it, I’ve now got 4 cursed blackbirds hanging around and they are doing a huge amount of damage.

Forgetting: I know I observed some other things in the garden that I wanted to note down, but it’s all fallen out of my not-very-alert mind right now.

 

Leave a Reply

