Belladonna Bess

An edible garden in Wellington, NZ

From winter to summer October 10, 2009

Filed under: Garden — belladonnabess @ 9:40 pm

After the miserable southerly gales, this morning was sunny and windless, and I was in the garden in shorts and t-shirt again. Later though, a cold and very strong westerly turned up.

Sweeping: the southerly storms left the driveway covered in pine needles from the shelterbelt. A strong northlerly usually blows them away again, and they probably end up blocking stormwater drains somewhere. I decided that I could do with a layer of pine needle mulch for my blueberries and my path. I got 6 or 7 big tubs for just over an hour of hard sweeping.

Uncovering: the pavers in my vege garden. They were covered with mulch by the excavating blackbirds. Also uncovering various plants they have buried.

Netting: clearly my garden doesn’t have enough mesh down to stop the blackbirds, so I put some more in. I’m also thinking about putting net over the berries soon, and wondering about the best way to attach it.

Sowing: beans – I’ve planted most of the beans I plan to plant. A few more fardenlosa (the previous lot aren’t up, I don’t think they would have liked the cold), unknown giant variety (I saw it in a NZ gardener recently but forgot what it was called, I got it a few years ago in a mix from Koanga and have been saving it since then) and Dalmatian beans.

Flowering: Geranium phaeum, comfrey. There are lots of flowers on my Marcy raspberry.

Observing: plenty of insect life in the garden, including a tiny praying mantis, looked like it was just hatched. I don’t see many of them, but they are definitely around. There was an egg case on one of the fences I painted in Janaury, so it must have been laid this year.

 

Leave a Reply

