Belladonna Bess

An edible garden in Wellington, NZ

Not even I can garden in this weather… August 29, 2009

Filed under: Garden — belladonnabess @ 11:37 pm

random narcissusBusy day, and I wasn’t free to garden until 4.30. By that time the storm with severe gales and torrential rain had arrived, so I didn’t get much done.

Sprouting: Baxter’s Blue geranium. Took me a moment to realise it wasn’t a weed.

Budding: some of my tulips, and one or two of my strawberries, including “Lipstick”.

Planting: a few more potatoes I found in my seed box. Not quite sure what they are or where they came from. May be a Maori potato variety.

Strengthening: the asparagus windbreak. One of the bamboo stakes had already broken.

Picking: most of my daffodils. They usually last longer in the garden than a vase, but not in this sort of weather. So I salvaged them while I could. The photo is what they looked like at about 8 this morning, before the storm arrived.

Wondering: what will be left of the garden by tomorrow morning.

 

Leave a Reply

