Belladonna Bess

An edible garden in Wellington, NZ

Not much done August 15, 2009

Filed under: Garden — belladonnabess @ 10:42 pm

Raining: only about 3 mm this weekend, up until 5 today anyway, despite predictions of rain. A bit more now, so I’ll check the rain gauge again in the next few days.

Sorting: weeds from dirt. I’ve found that if I pile up the scraped off weedy layer and cover it for a few weeks, it becomes a bit looser (possibly worm activity) and I can separate most of the soil from the weed roots and put it back in the garden. Boring and it doesn’t look like I’ve done much when I’m finished.

Chitting: potatoes (Agria and Desiree), Inca gold oca (we call them yams here, but it’s such an ambiguous name I avoid it). Not sure how long to leave them, but I can see that the eyes are starting to sprout.

Sowing: the first batch of seeds in pots. In the little propagator (which keeps them a bit warmer) – yellow cucumber, chili mixed, capsicum mixed, Thelma Sanders pumpkin, crown pumpkin, Zephyr zucchini, Genovese basil and a red lettuce that I’ve found difficult to germinate. In pots inside – dill, lovage, currant tomato, red Russian tomato, yellow tomato, cocktail mix tomato, black dianthus (ornamental, I don’t think you can eat it), asparagus pea, purple sprouting broccoli, celery, Zephyr zucchini. It sounds like a lot, but I know where I plan to plant most of these. I think.

Budding: definite bud swell on Albany Surprise (grape) and Polka (apple). Both nectarines have some blossoms open. Ebony (raspberry) has past budbreak and there are a few twigs of Waiau (raspberry) that have too (I didn’t notice them before as they are largely buried in the mulch).

Buying: more seeds. Because I don’t have enough!

 

Leave a Reply

