Belladonna Bess

An edible garden in Wellington, NZ

Wellington weather is like this all the time… July 25, 2009

Filed under: Garden — belladonnabess @ 12:10 am

Yeah, right.

Wiring: the first two rows of wires for espaliers and vines.

Planting: grapes (Albany Surprise, Candice), apple (Initial).

Buying: lots. Apium prostratum, Lepidium oleraceum, Rorippa divaricata, apple Polka (a columnar apple), two dwarf nectarines (no idea how well they will fruit in Wellington but I do have a very warm sunny spot), grape (Candice).

The three natives were a surprise, not something I expected to see. All are edible, so I suppose that’s why such otherwise obscure plants were in an ordinary garden centre. Apium prostratum is common enough in the wild, but the other two are endangered species that are only recently (this decade, as far as I know) in cultivation. They grow well enough if protected from goats and various brassica pests, so I hope they will do ok in my garden.

Wondering: where I’m going to fit the dwaft nectarines, since they were a bit of an impulse buy. I have enough space, I just have to make sure they get a really good spot.

Scraping: ice off my car window, at 10.30pm in Karori. A frosty night, but I’m not sure whether I will have a frost here, since I’m much warmer.

Flowering: daffodil and crocus. Just opening now. It’s definitely still winter, but some of my bulbs seem determined to hurry spring along. Yay!

Reburying: Jersey Benne, again. Good thing I did, since I’m expecting frost.

Eating: broccoli (still getting the occasional small head), silverbeet, land cress, rocket, miner’s lettuce, chickweed. Mmmm, weeds.

 

Leave a Reply

