Belladonna Bess

An edible garden in Wellington, NZ

Mmmmm coffee July 4, 2009

Filed under: Garden — belladonnabess @ 10:25 pm

Experimenting: after noticing that the blackbirds hadn’t dug up anything with coffee grounds on it, I’ve scattered more grounds around several areas where they were digging. I’ve left areas without grounds as well. Still, everything smells of coffee. Good thing I like coffee.

Planting: bok choi, red bunching onions (think that they are like spring onions) and Nemophila, which isn’t edible but is one of my favourite flowering annuals. I found a place with a better selection of the seedlings that come wrapped in paper. I’m not really sure how good it is planting at this time, but my garden is not windy at the moment because it is mostly southerly winds rather than northerly. My hope is that even if they don’t grow much over the next month or so, they will be strong enough to take the wind that they are likely to get in late August.

I was a bit surprised to find Nemophila – I wouldn’t have thought they were winter-growing plants, but I don’t often see them available so worth a try.

Enjoying: sun. Despite the dismal forecast, there was a little sun this afternoon. Faust was asleep in the pea straw, largely ignoring the blackbirds destroying the garden. The fantails were flitting about and the tui was in the pear tree again. Sun just makes everything better.

 

Leave a Reply

