Belladonna Bess

An edible garden in Wellington, NZ

Gale-force southerly May 22, 2009

Filed under: Garden — belladonnabess @ 8:50 pm

Eating: broccoli, silverbeet, celery

Doing: not a lot else. The weather is vile. I’m normally pretty sheltered from the southerly, but this one has winds gusting to 140 kilometres per hour and nothing escapes.

Observing: I’m losing the sun about 4.30pm at the moment, when there is sun of course. It is on the garden from about 9 am, so that is a decent number of hours.

Enjoying: I’m excited to have my first celery for the year. Last year, the first time I ate home-grown celery, I found it very strong and it took me some time to get used to it. Now, after a season of my own celery, the commercial stuff now seems rather tasteless. I had heard that celery was difficult to grow, but while it is a bit tricky when small – the seedlings are tiny –  it seems easy enough once it is in the ground. Apparently it needs lots of water, but it is winter, in Wellington. Lack of water is NOT going to be a problem!

Learning: plant fewer tomatoes.  Plant more carrots.

 

Leave a Reply

